Fire Islands: Recipes from Indonesia

1 item left

WINNER of the Edward Stanford Kerb Food and Drink Travel Book of the Year Award 2020 

Recreate the magic of Indonesian cuisine at home: Fire Islands is a cookbook for those who love to travel, and for those who have visited Indonesia and have fallen in love with incredible flavours of Indonesian food. Perfect for fans of books such as Yotam Ottolenghi's Jerusalem, or Sabrina Ghayour's Sirocco.

Bali is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Indonesian archipelago and few fail to fall in love with the steep verdant rice terraces, the ancient rainforest, and the exotic flavoursome dishes. In Fire Islands, the award-winning cookbook author Eleanor Ford (Samarkand, 2016) gives a personal, intimate portrait of a country and its cooking, from the refined cooking of Java to the spicy heart of Sumatra and the festival foods of Bali. Eleanor's recipes will transport you to the bustling streets of Indonesia, where chilli-spiked sambals are served with rich noodle broths, and salty peanut sauce sweetens chargrilled sate sticks. Shared feasts of creamy coconut curries, stir-fries and spiced rice enjoyed in Indonesian homes will fill your kitchen with the aroma of ginger, tamarind, lemongrass and lime

Eleanor's recipes are the culmination of her extensive travels around Indonesia. They include: 

  • Sweetcorn fritters
  • Glazed prawn sate
  • Coconut milk chicken
  • Lamb shank red curry
  • Sweet and spicy mushroom tongseng
  • Fiery Sulawesi pork ribs
  • Steamed fish parcels with lemon basil

Info
Eleanor Ford
Hardback
240 pages


Type: Books